Scary Hollow Weenie

Since for some people every day is Halloween, it is only appropriate that this announcement comes this week.  How on earth a woman who has kept all “his” female reproductive organs can refer to “himself” as a “man” is beyond comprehension.  It doesn’t work on any level — biological, sociological or semantic.  Look, it’s a free country, go ahead and hack away at your genitalia and have a box full of velcro sex organs for quick changes and a fridge full of hormone smoothies but you will never actually be able to change your sex (the word is “sex” not “gender”).  I can walk around in a stove pipe hat and a beard but that doesn’t make me Abraham Lincoln.  So sorry that daddy touched you down there and you can’t deal with being a lesbian so you need to confuse the issue and decide you’re a man trapped in a woman’s body.  Didn’t Dr. Frankenstein attempt to creat a new form of life by stiching together disparate body parts?  I hear that turned out pretty well, too.  If I shot myself full of testosterone I could grow more facial hair too, but I would still only be the man I am.  Dressing up in drag doesn’t make me a woman, either.  But this “man has a baby” bullshit is nothing more than a circus side show.  I’m not saying a person doesn’t have the right do to this, but don’t say that I don’t have the right to be utterly disgusted by it.  And the book is published by Seal Press whose slogan happens to be “Groundbreaking Books.  By Women.  For Women.”  Um, doesn’t this mean that you are not now and have never been nor never will be a man?  And why is it that the misguided political correctness of today places these people under the umbrella of gay rights issues?  It seems that the last thing any of these sex switchers wants is the right to be gay?  Why is there never any discussion of Body Integrity Identity Disorder?  I want to be a zaftig black woman who sings like a dream.  Where’s my goddamned support group and surgeon?

One Response to “Scary Hollow Weenie”

  1. SemiBold Says:

    How I love when you open up a can of worms, FC! Speaking as someone who works in an environment that always has a transexual or two running around (to say nothing of our blind albino database manager), I also find the whole thing, well, curious. I’ll admit to not understanding the intense motivation that compels people to so change themselves (and almost always utterly unconvincingly), and I too find it hard to accept lumping this group in with gay people. Seems to me about as far from gay as one can get — “I’m not a lesbian, I’m a man in a woman’s body.” OK, whatever. Call yourself whatever you like, and I’ll do my best to go along with it, because I’m polite, not because I’m buying it.

Leave a comment